308 with extra HP!!! | FerrariChat

308 with extra HP!!!

Discussion in '308/328' started by duck.co.za, Oct 18, 2009.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. duck.co.za

duck.co.za Formula Junior

Jan 9, 2007
    Cape Town South Afri
    Full Name:
    Dave
    #1 duck.co.za, Oct 18, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2009
    How does a 308 with 300 hp go ? and then if you make it 400 hp how does it go ? Does it just break the back wheels loose or do they put the power down ? If you have a 400 hp 308 have you changed the rear wheel size (width ) ? How does the chassis handle the extra power ? I would think the brakes need an upgrade ?

2. mike996

mike996 F1 Veteran

Jun 14, 2008
    Full Name:
    Mike 996
    I have no direct Ferrari experience with your question. But I have a lot of it with other cars. Since cars are cars and engines are engines they will all react more or less the same.

If a car has a 250 HP engine and you increase it to 300, there will normally be no "problems" associated with the increase and, on a 3000lb car, it will make a noticeable increase in performance without particularly straining anything else. Assuming everthing is in good condition, it won't have any problems at all.

Going to 400 HP means you are going to break something if the rest of the drivetrain is not modified. The tires are usually the weakest point, followed by the clutch and that's a good thing. But what happens is that people than figure they'll install wider tires and a stronger clutch and NOW, instead of a clutch slipping/tires spinning they have gears/driveshafts breaking. Sure, you can "tread lightly" as you apply power but then what's the point?