Motor Oil - All Chapters, Inclusive -Copy and Save This | Page 3 | FerrariChat

Motor Oil - All Chapters, Inclusive -Copy and Save This

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by AEHaas, Jan 21, 2007.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Maniak

Maniak Rookie

Jan 2, 2009
    Amsterdam
    Full Name:
    Marc
    Hello, I'm new to FerrariChat and like to find out about these great machines Enzo's created..!

@AEHaas,

Maybe you would like to comment on my views at this quote,
    The discussion is about getting grip on life of an engine by carefully selecting oil. I would like to know those things with expensive Ferrari's and thank you for sharing with us.
    About the BMW, when an oil is recommended for their M-power engines they are aware of the properties it should meet when advising so. Why don't they? Then this means they say one should put in this engine a 60 SAE graded oil. The grade of oil following SAE constitutes a range of fluid and the individual manufacturer could be on the lower or as well on the higher side of the [SAE] range. So, if one has a solid engine there is an oil thickness a customer can use to suit his needs. If one thinks about rapid wear as a design feature, you would say high piston speed or actually piston acceleration will bear heavy load on engine parts. But isn't it true that one might just need a 'thicker' oil because under heavy load a connecting rod also suffers side load, and without proper cooling by (no) bearing material which, in turn, entails to higher stress on local engine parts and therefore customers should pour in the high grade oil and thus justify an expensive oil?

2. procure95

procure95 Formula Junior

Dec 17, 2006
    PA, USA
    Full Name:
    Giovanni (John)
    #52 procure95, Jan 3, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2009

not enough data for a formula

3. procure95

procure95 Formula Junior

Dec 17, 2006
    PA, USA
    Full Name: