Weber Carbs 40 DCNF 101 | FerrariChat

Weber Carbs 40 DCNF 101

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by robertgarven, Jul 2, 2010.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. robertgarven

robertgarven F1 Veteran
    Owner

Feb 24, 2002
    Ventura, California
    Full Name:
    Robert Garven
    Friends,

I am starting my long awaited carb rebuild on my 75 GT4. I have a few questions for the experts. I have been putting this off for 15 years but now I have two off!

1. What is the recommendation for grease for bearings and linkage?

2. Should I use any sealant on the gaskets?

3. Suggestions for cleaning the carbs and parts?

Thanks in advance will post some pics

Rob

2. yelcab

yelcab F1 World Champ
    Consultant

Nov 29, 2001
    San Carlos, CA
    Full Name:
    Mitchell Le
    1. I am not too picky with this one.
    2. I have not used any sealant on the gasket, due to the nature of the gasoline environment
    3. I used carburetor cleaner (a one gallon bath).

3. flyngti

flyngti Formula 3

Jul 16, 2009
    Snohomish, WA
    Full Name:
    Eric L
    1. I replaced the bearings so I didn't need to lube them. For the linkage, small dabs of lithium grease on each ball.
    2. I didn't use anything -- gaskets dry.
    3. Ultrasonic parts cleaner with hot water and dish soap. I borrowed one, but Harbor Freight has one for about $60. Ultrasonic cleans everything nicely and the best part is there are no harsh chemicals.

4. BillyD

BillyD Formula 3
    Silver Subscribed

Feb 28, 2004
    Pacific Northwest
    Full Name:
    Bill
    Float level measured to float body not soldered seam
    Bearings replaced (superformance UK)removed by homemade Sykes tool no need to remove butterflies
    One carb rebuilt at a time
    Need air balance tool

5. Spitfire

Spitfire Formula 3

Nov 16, 2006