Testa Rossa or 328?? | FerrariChat

Testa Rossa or 328??

Discussion in 'Ferrari Discussion (not model specific)' started by FDJake, Jul 27, 2011.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. FDJake

FDJake Rookie

Jul 27, 2011
    #1 FDJake, Jul 27, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2011
    I'm new to the Ferrari world.....I've had Porsche's, Viper's, Jag's, & Cobra's, ect and would like a good used Ferrari with a manual trans. I see that 328's tend to go between $50K-$60K and for that kind of money a Testa Rossa also becomes an option.

What do you think assuming both cars are in the same condition?

Pro's and Con's 328 or Testa Rossa????

Thanks

2. DennisForza

DennisForza Formula 3

May 23, 2006
    Arlington, VA
    Full Name:
    Dennis
    #2 DennisForza, Jul 27, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2011
    A Testa Rossa is exponentially out of the price range of a 328, but a Testarossa is only a bit more. ;) Both are good cars if the previous owners have taken a little care of them. TR's repair bills will be a bit higher, but really it comes down to a matter of taste in my opinion.

3. PFSEX

PFSEX Formula Junior

Jun 30, 2006
    Las Vegas
    Full Name:
    John Ratto
    We all know he didn't mean the Testa Rossa of the late 50s. Give him a break.

Note - production numbers about the same.

Testarossa

Advantages - much more powerful, more flexible engine. A rare V12 in a world of V8s (and 6s and 4s). Top of the line model - nicer interior. Greater appreciation potential in the long run.

Disadvanbtages - wideeee. Heavy. Not appreciated at this time. Somewhat higher repair and maintenance costs.

Advantages: more nimble. More fun to drive on tight roads. Better steering. Lower maintenance and insurance.

Disadvantages: Engine more higly stressed - won't last as long.

I would spring for a 512 TR.

4. DGS

DGS Six Time F1 World Champ
    Rossa Subscribed

May 27, 2003
    MidTN
    Full Name: