550 vs. 575 | FerrariChat

550 vs. 575

Discussion in '456/550/575' started by gabf1, Jan 8, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. gabf1

gabf1 Formula Junior
    Silver Subscribed

Jul 7, 2004
    Rockies
    Recently, I was talking about my 575M with my brother and he suggested that I trade my car for a 550. He thought it would be a better investment overall. I am not sure about that, but it got me thinking.

I am new to the Ferrari world having had my car for only about a year now. I have enjoyed the car a lot and it has grown on me tremendously over the time I have had it. I initially wanted the 550 but when I was in the market, there were very few cars on the market and most cars asking prices were at or near the $200k asking price. I decided on a 575 with under 10k miles for about half the price.

Now the market has changed. and I did a fairly unscientific study on current values between the cars by taking a look the overall asking prices of current cars for sale on Autotrader for both models. I came up with a roughy $20k delta and noticed a significant overlap in prices. I did delete three 550s that had asking prices of $220+.

Now the question is, which is the better overall car to have? I am interested in the overall drivability, fun factor, potential for appreciation, reliability, and quality of the two models. Ultimately, what I've gleaned from many comments on other threads is that gated is a big factor in people's opinion.

Here are some of my initial thoughts on pros/cons:

Gated
    More raw driving experience
    Approximately 3,000 produced

F1 mostly
    Updated and improved technology in some systems
    Approximately 2,000 produced.

So, that being said, what does the community have to say? Many of you have owned both. I would be interested to hear your comments. Thanks.

2. greyboxer

greyboxer F1 World Champ

Dec 8, 2004
    South East
    Full Name:
    Jimmie