Montana registration crack-down | Page 7 | FerrariChat

Montana registration crack-down

Discussion in 'Ferrari Discussion (not model specific)' started by Terence Courtnage, Oct 25, 2018.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. George Vosburgh

George Vosburgh F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

I thought about registering my business in Montana to get the plate for my 599.

I'm glad I didn't.

2. sixcarbs

sixcarbs F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

Dec 19, 2004
    SF
    For all the legal chatter in this thread I have not seen one of our resident lawyers chime in. I guess they don't want to touch this with a 10 foot pole.

3. Texas Forever

Texas Forever Seven Time F1 World Champ
    Rossa Subscribed

Apr 28, 2003
    Texas!
    I'm not a lawyer, but:

1. Forming a Montana LLC is not illegal.
    2. Transferring your car to a Montana LLC is not illegal.
    3. Driving your Montana LLC registered car across state lines is not illegal.
    4. The problem comes in complying with your state laws on registering the car. Some states give you 30-days if you move the car to your home state, others don't have a quantitative window. But when you park the Montana LLC car in your driveway for months at a time, this is when the rubber hits the road.

4. henryr

henryr Two Time F1 World Champ
    Silver Subscribed

Nov 10, 2003
    Atlanta
    Full Name:
    Juan Sánchez Villa-L
    just hypothetically speaking but...

if i had a friend here in atlanta that had his ferrari registered using a montana llc. lets say the car hasnt left GA let alone buckhead. suppose he calls his prominent attorney who he used to setup this llc. you'd know that he'd be a reputable and knowledgeable attorney based on his advertisements handling such services in a prominent (likely my favorite) magazine. do you think he'd tell him the gig is up ? go down and pay your fee, penalty and square up ?

;)

5. Glassman