Scud over CS and Speciale Chris Harris | Page 8 | FerrariChat

Scud over CS and Speciale Chris Harris

Discussion in '360/430' started by smdzucladoc, Jun 21, 2019.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. 24000rpm

24000rpm F1 Rookie

I see that corrosion too

but, according to my 200+ bushing dissembly experience, that corrosion isn't happening on every bushing. I'd say, 30% of them. and those are with cars that do outings in the rain/snow. I have a 360 that never goes into the rain and the insert (I called it the metal part) is like new inside!

I am no pro, so I think I might benefit from your expertise, can we just clean corrosions and keep using them?

2. Sky Hye

Sky Hye Formula Junior
    BANNED

Apr 2, 2017
    SoCal
    I’m happy to be talking with someone with experience and not just “keyboard knowledge!”

By cleaning you introduce two major issues:

1. You’d reduce the diameter and as a result you’d induce slop. That would either make the suspension terrible, such as my current situation with worn Sphericals. The slop will also wear out the “bushing” much faster.

2. You might affect the circularity and cylindricity, which would also affect suspension in negative ways as well.

3. Lastly, one lesson I learned when I used to restore beetles and build rock crawlers.. when you remove rust or caked on dirt, grease, etc. sometimes you expose issues that were covered up. For example I cleaned 50 years worth of dirt and grease off a beetle suspension and when I reassembled it things were a bit off and I had a few leaks that the grease caked on was preventing. Counter intuitive but it’s happened to me often. Removing rust brings out pits. Those pits will now rust again and grow deeper and weaken the part more.

3. 24000rpm

24000rpm F1 Rookie

make sense.

I understand that the polyurethane will last longer than OEM, but isn't it going to introduce some squeeking noise