leather conditioning: Lexol vs Leatherique | FerrariChat

leather conditioning: Lexol vs Leatherique

Discussion in 'Detailing & Showroom' started by 67bmer, Jul 24, 2019.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. 67bmer

67bmer Formula 3
    Silver Subscribed

Oct 28, 2015
    MD
    The mid-Atlantic had a little heatwave so I decided to condition the seats in my Cayenne.

I recently had a new top and cover installed on my spyder and the place said I needed to condition the cover to prevent it from shrinking several times a year. They recommended Lexol or Meguiares conditioners. So I bought some Lexol and applied it to the cover and let it sit for a couple days. The photo shows lower portion where applied, before wiping off with a damp microfiber towel. I have been using Leatherique as my "leather system" for several years on all my vehicles. I also have a post showing the results. I have not tried the Lexol before and thought this would be an interesting experiment.

Image Unavailable, Please Login

I decided to do a comparison between the Leatherique and Lexol on my cayenne seats and headrests.

Before. I will say, that I am sure the facing material is different than the material on the sides of the headrests. Probably manufacturers trying to save money. So I did not treat the sides.

Step-1 apply with a brush. There are many discussions about leather on the internet! Some suggest that leather in cars might have a plastic layer that prevents penetration, etc. I can say that on several vehicles I notice the Leatherique Rejuvenator oil gets fisheyes when applied. In other words, it does not completely wet the surface. The Lexol did not.

Step-2 cover with plastic wrap and let stand in the heat for several days

Remove plastic

Step-3 wipe off with a microfiber towel.

Results -