812 VS Rumors | Page 41 | FerrariChat

812 VS Rumors

Discussion in 'F12/812' started by Frenzisko, Feb 10, 2018.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Gh21631

Gh21631 F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

Feb 24, 2011
    East
    Having both for extended times I cant see why anyone would say this. It is unfounded. There is ZERO vibration in the 720s. ZERO

2. Gh21631

Gh21631 F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

Feb 24, 2011
    East
    Please explain your experience and the differences in what Ferrai is using in F1. This should he entertaining. Mind you I had ownership in a carbon fiber plant in Manchester England so before you go to far please think about your response. We specifically focused on FRPs for structural reinforcement. I learned quite a bit about the various uses, materials and process. I'm no expert but I have a fair amount of experience. Pleae fill us in on your technical background and experience, perhaps you know more than me.

Yes there is a savings in manufacturing in higher quantities but the rest of what you are claiming is off base. Please explain why the carbon McLaren is using is inferior.

3. Gh21631

Gh21631 F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

Feb 24, 2011
    East
    Like what? The properties of metal have some advantages such as bending before breaking but otherwise carbon with the appropriate resins for a given application are ideal. I'm sure there are other differences, pros and cons each way but in general lighter, stronger is ideal in motorsport which is why carbon is widely used. Cost is generally the biggest inhibitor.

4. j09333

j09333 Formula 3

May 7, 2004
    Had both. Sold M. Not just because of vibration but with many other reasons. Maybe they improved with 720s.

Oh and lambo... they should learn from porsche how to setup with carbon body. It vibrates alot.

Sent from my iPhone using FerrariChat

Igor Ound likes this.
  5. Ferrari 308 Vetro