Qs on brake and clutch fluid flush, thank you in advance. | FerrariChat

Qs on brake and clutch fluid flush, thank you in advance.

Discussion in 'Boxers/TR/M' started by Tifoso1, Jul 30, 2020.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Tifoso1

Tifoso1 F1 Rookie

Nov 18, 2003
    Pacific NW
    Full Name:
    Anthony C.
    My next task on the Testarossa is to flush the brake calipers and the clutch. Been doing my home work on the how-to and buying necessary tools needed to help me do this correctly and efficiently. I will be following the steps by TDC again on this (http://truedriverscar.com/docs/testarossa_brakeFluidFlush). The car has ATE blue in it right now, so I do plan on going to either clear or amber to help me better ID the flushing progress since I am a rookie at this. With that said, I have two questions that come to mind immediately about this, so like always, any help will be greatly appreciated.

1) With the clutch bleeder valve hiding underneath the heat shield of air intake and filter, I am having a hard time seeing and reaching it. Do you need to remove the intake or is there a trick to getting this done?

2) Caliper procedure. I have been taught to bleed the caliper furthest away from the reservoir first (RR, LR, RF & LF), but as I understand it, the factory manual has the sequence that is new to me, RF, LF, RR then LR. Not trying to be smarter than Ferrari engineers but can someone explain to me the reasons behind this process and which one do you follow?

Again, many thanks to all of you.

2. turbo-joe

turbo-joe F1 Veteran

Apr 6, 2008
    southwest germany and thailand
    Full Name:
    romano schwabel
    as long as there is old brake fluid in it does not matter where you start first. only have to bleed as long until new brake fluid comes out without airbubbles
    sorry, can not explain the procedure F says. italian logic? ;)

3. Veedub00

Veedub00 F1 Rookie