Hvac blower disrupting oil gauge reading! | FerrariChat

Hvac blower disrupting oil gauge reading!

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by Arturin, Aug 15, 2020.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Arturin

Arturin Karting

Aug 16, 2009
    Spain
    Hi guys,

Just experienced what the title says. Apparently when I put my hvac blower on Max (position 4) the oil pressure gauge reads 0.5 Bar less than if it is on position 0. I’ve been testing during the trip. A/C compressor on or off doesn’t affect the reading, it’s just the blower.

Let’s say I’m cruising at constant 3000 rpm with blower off, the oil pressure gauge reads 5 bar (middle of the gauge). Turn the blower to position 4 and oil pressure drops to 4.5 Bar. Turn the blower back to 0 and the gauge slowly starts creeping back to 5 bar again.
    Position 1 2 and 3 also affect the gauge reading but less.
    I’m not really good at electronics but any idea where to start checking or what does the hvac have to do with the oil pressure gauge???

Thanks!

2. afwrench

afwrench Formula Junior

Nov 24, 2004
    NY
    Full Name:
    Mike
    Hi Arturin, you dont say what kind of car but do you notice a drop in rpm when you turn the AC on? Mike

3. Arturin

Arturin Karting

Aug 16, 2009
    Spain
    Oh! It’s a F355. Yeah the A/C works fine. The problem is somehow related to the blower. Doesn’t matter if the A/C compressor is on or off, it’s the blower that disrupts the gauge reading.

4. wmuno

wmuno Formula Junior
    Silver Subscribed

Dec 24, 2007
    Wilmette, Illinois
    Full Name:
    Bill Muno