The gloves have come off, the US automakers have to go in deep on electrics | FerrariChat

The gloves have come off, the US automakers have to go in deep on electrics

Discussion in 'Technology' started by bitzman, Mar 19, 2021.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. bitzman

bitzman F1 Rookie
    BANNED

Feb 15, 2008
    Ontario, CA
    Full Name:
    wallace wyss
    At a recent meeting between Red China and the US in Alaska, the Chinese used the phrase "the gloves have come off" and it's getting closer to revealing the long range aspirations of each country vis-a-vs the other.
    I am only a car writer so can't speak to the human rights issues, but in the car market I would say that it's becoming apparent that
    1)the world car market is going electric
    and
    2.)the country that makes the most electric cars that are "world acceptable" will dominate the world car market.
    Note the problem in the US with the US stepping up to the challenge is that the public in the US hasn't been that welcoming to electrics. I have heard figures as low as electrics being as low as 2% of the market and as high as 4% but in China it's at least double digits.
    And they have at least ten different electric car companies.
    And among automakers in China are two to American companies, Buick and Tesla.
    I think while the labor rate in China is undeniably attractive (no union strikes there!) this situation could come to a head if and when an American President forbids Chinese-made cars to be sold in the US. This might happen as "punishment" for some act like China invading Taiwan, or some other military move.