355 or 355 | FerrariChat

355 or 355

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by delaney, Feb 16, 2004.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. delaney

delaney Formula Junior

Nov 8, 2003
    St Petersburg, FL
    Full Name:
    PETER DELANEY
    I need advice please ...

Two 355's:

95 7500miles 15k done
    97 27000miles 15k & 30k engine out done & valves.

Everything else equal(ish) .. price etc, '95 may have slightly better cosmetics (small amount of dash shrinkage & switch plate looks buckled .. but very liveable with).

Both check out OK on a pre purchase inspection.

I'm worried about the '95 valve problem. Should I be?

I have no 355 experience.

regards,

Delaney

2. delaney

delaney Formula Junior

Nov 8, 2003
    St Petersburg, FL
    Full Name:
    PETER DELANEY
    ... for the previous link ... both are spyders.

3. Tipo815

Tipo815 F1 Rookie

Nov 1, 2003
    Newport Beach, CA
    Full Name:
    Jeffrey
    Personally I am a fan of low miles, overall condition, and service history. I am assuming both cars checked out in terms of originality - no accidents, major paint work, etc. I would vote for the '95 with 7500 miles. You'll be able to put 10,000 miles on it and still have a low mileage car for its year. Another 10,000 miles on the '97 and you'll be pushing 40k in miles - not somewhere you want to be with a Ferrari. This is all assuming that you do care about resale, etc. I have a '95 and have not had any problems (knock on wood) with the valve issue. I heard the same things you are hearing - potential problem but not one that affects every car.

4. jakermc

jakermc Formula 3
    Owner

Jan 17, 2004
    Palm Beach, FL
    Full Name:
    Rob