Front Silentbloc, how hard to change? | FerrariChat

Front Silentbloc, how hard to change?

Discussion in 'Boxers/TR/M' started by c4b4the04, Jan 19, 2020.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. c4b4the04

c4b4the04 Formula Junior
    Silver Subscribed

Jun 9, 2017
    Northern Virginia
    Full Name:
    Cassidy
    Hi all,

Well, in doing a full brake service, new radiators and a new dash upper panel, I noticed a small puddle of gear oil under the car. Seeing how it is my first year of ownership, I am still sorting out the little gremlins that time creates. Well documented car, 26k miles. Still crazy in love with it.

You guessed it! Our beloved number "47" O-ring has failed. Ok, I can live with that job. Just add it on for the winter projects. I figured I needed a new silentbloc (36) back there anyway, so I ordered a pair a week ago (I assumed that was my vague 4th and 5th gear engagement at the end of last season. (was fine after timing belt service in June, got vague by October)

Anyway, now that the side cover will be off, AND the new rear silentblock, how hard is it to do the front one? Can I leave the console in place and still remove the shifter? I'm up on Quick Jacks at the moment and it isn't really easy to get the seats out of the car in my one-bay garage. I'd sooner wait to do it, but don't want to go to the hassle of adjusting everything out, only to discover later the front one is old and weak.

I'm all ears, gents. Grazie,
    Cassidy
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. Shamile

Shamile F1 Veteran

Dec 31, 2002
    Lakeland FL
    Full Name:
    Shamile
    You can definitely change the front silent bloc while the shifter and center console remain in the car. Use a puller or what I did...a combination of a bolt, nut and multi sized washers to draw the silent bloc through.