308GTB Rebuild Starts | FerrariChat

308GTB Rebuild Starts

Discussion in '308/328' started by b27, Jan 16, 2008.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. b27

b27 F1 World Champ

Oct 11, 2007
    Melbourne, Australia
    Full Name:
    Brett
    #1 b27, Jan 16, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    5 years ago I bought the car I dreamed of.

Its a 1978 308GTB (Steel car)

It was pretty rough when I bought it and new it needed some work. Actaully some serious work.

I am new to FChat and have enjoyed reading and followng other peoples car restoration/rebuilds so I thought I would share mine with you all.

The car was orginally a UK spec car hence the scollap in the rear section for the single exhaust. Early in its life it was sent to Australia, (still trying to confirm actual date). I later found out that the colour was Gialo Fly when it left the factory.

I am not doing a concour restoration and it will not be 100% of the original car with few changes planned.

1. Ugly single exhaust will not be coming back and scallop filled in.
    2. Quick steering rack to be installed.
    3. High compression pistons will be used.
    4. 16" Wheels to be used.
    5. Car will go back to Gialo Fly.

The car was fully stripped just prior to Xmas and it is in the panel shop. Below are some before pics plus a couple showing the commencement of stripping.

As you can probably imagine I am realy excited.

Can't wait to post drives like Jimshadow just did. Keep posting these drives. While mine has been off the road, thes ehave been enjoyable to read.

Cheers

Brett
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. jimshadow

jimshadow F1 Veteran
    Lifetime Rossa Owner

Feb 19, 2006
    Indiana
    Full Name:
    JIM
    Brett,