News

1982 Mondial 8 restoration

Discussion in 'Mondial' started by Dr-Boost, Feb 17, 2021.

1. Dr-Boost

Dr-Boost Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

Jun 21, 2018
    Full Name:
    IAN THOMPSON
    Hello All

Long time listener, first time (technically second) caller.

My name is Ian Thompson and I am based in Holywood, Northern Ireland. I’m a mechanical Engineer with a PhD in Turbocharged engines. I own a small (very small, only me) company, TSV Cars Ltd. I set it up to do some Engineering consultancy and restore old Ferraris and Porsches.

I thought I would share my latest build with the community here as I know I love seeing pictures of restorations and hopefully I may be of help to some.

For the attention of Admins, I’m not here to promote my business, I mention it so as not to break any rules, I will of course help the community with advice and parts info etc and would love to get to the stage where I could sponsor a forum but I’m not quite there yet. Please get in touch if there is a fee or specific rules I should follow, Thanks.

So, on to the latest build.

The car is a 1982 RHD Mondial 8 in Rosso Corsa over Crema. This is quite a rare car as far as Mondials go as there were only 145 (reportedly) made in right hand drive…and I bet there aren’t many left…hence my desire to save it.

I'll be carrying out what I call a 'Class B' restoration, by that I mean somewhere between a 'Class A' full nut and bolt restoration and a 'Class C' (full service and cosmetic correction) restoration/renovation.

Throughout this restoration, I’ll share the running totals of money and time, a bit 'Wheeler Dealer-esque'. This will give a good idea of the true cost and time should you be contemplating your own restoration. I’ll also aim to post weekly.