1985 400i Power Steering / Alternator / A/C V-Belt assembly sequence | FerrariChat

1985 400i Power Steering / Alternator / A/C V-Belt assembly sequence

Discussion in '365 GT4 2+2/400/412' started by Paul C Cain, Jan 7, 2023.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Paul C Cain

Paul C Cain Karting
    Silver Subscribed

Nov 12, 2017
    Newport Beach Calif.
    Full Name:
    Paul C Cain
    It's clear that Design for Serviceability was not part of the DFMEA in the engineering dept at Ferrari in the 1970's. Below are the key steps in 'simplifying' the installation of new belts on the front of motor service for a late model 400i.

I've tried to compress it down to a '12 Step Process'. If I had to do this for a living, I'm confident that I would be a graduate of another 12 Step Program. Hopefully this will save others in the future a few missteps in the assembly sequence.
    Image Unavailable, Please Login Image Unavailable, Please Login Image Unavailable, Please Login Image Unavailable, Please Login Image Unavailable, Please Login Image Unavailable, Please Login Image Unavailable, Please Login Image Unavailable, Please Login Image Unavailable, Please Login

Il Tifoso, Schumi and samsaprunoff like this.
  2. Theruse

Theruse Karting

Jan 17, 2014
    Maryland
    Full Name:
    Prescott Russo
    I suspect it must have taken you longer to prepare the excellent pictures and instructions than it took to complete the procedure. Well done.

3. SouthJersey400i

SouthJersey400i Formula 3

Mar 14, 2007
    Romulus, NY (Finger Lakes)
    Full Name:
    Ken Battle