2010 Transmission seal | FerrariChat

2010 Transmission seal

Discussion in 'California/Portofino/Roma' started by CA1088, May 11, 2018.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. CA1088

CA1088 Rookie

May 11, 2018
    Hi All - I hope some can shed some light on this question here.

I am very brand new to F cars. As a matter of fact I am about to pickup a 2010 California from a non-ferrari dealership. I had a PPI done today and a couple of things came up.

Power seats. He says it binds a little, when I test drove it, I did not see a problem as I was adjusting the seats. He says the cost to fix it is $1200 and he split half with me. Not a big deal at all.

Here's where I am concern:

Transmission seal has moisture on it. Not leaking. The techs saw it after putting it up on the lift. The dealership was very honest and told me about it, because honestly, I would never know. He told me that it can be lack of driving? Car has 16K miles (2010). At the moment he says it is not necessary to change, but if I did end up having to repair it, it would be a cost of about $5000. Tech says it might fix itself as I drive it more often and the seal expands, but who knows?
    The question: Have any of you had this diagnosis before and how did it turn out? Should I be very concerned or is the risk minimal and I should pick it up anyways. I have read horror stories on here (yes, I am a rookie that actually tried to search it prior to posting), about $29K transmission replacement.

Again it is a 2010 California, 16K miles. Non ferarri dealer. No warranty. I plan on driving maybe 5-7K miles (maybe less, I have 2 other commuter cars). This car is really to have for the few weekends I may have some free time.