308 GT4 restoration, hillclimb + video | FerrariChat

308 GT4 restoration, hillclimb + video

Discussion in '308/328' started by Gavin Rooke, Dec 29, 2021.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Gavin Rooke

Gavin Rooke Rookie

May 26, 2020
    South Africa
    Full Name:
    Gavin Rooke
    I’ve finally summarised the restoration process of my ‘74 Dino GT4, including a trip through South Africa to compete in the 2021 Simola Hillclimb challenge. A short video below (sound on!) followed by an overview of the process for those that may be interested.

First off - I’m relatively familiar with rebuilding classic Porsches but I’m new to Ferrari, so please excuse my naivety within a community of Ferrari lovers. It was the ‘un-Ferrari’ Gandini wedge that led me into this obsession. Am I alone in this?

Image Unavailable, Please Login

How it started.

Ironically, I bought my GT4 whilst on the hunt for an project air-cooled 911 in July 2020. A local used-Ferrari dealer occasionally offers 911 trade-ins, so I popped in to take a look. No suitable 911s, but amid the Pininfarina curves sat a chrome-edged, dust-covered wedge that took me by surprise. I did not know the GT4 even existed, let alone having seen one in the flesh.

The car was previously owned for 40-odd years by an elderly gent who’d reluctantly moved into a retirement village (no space for the GT4).