308 GTB vs a Lotus Elise? | FerrariChat

308 GTB vs a Lotus Elise?

Discussion in '308/328' started by Looney, Jul 28, 2004.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Looney

Looney F1 Rookie

Jul 1, 2004
    Gold Coast
    Full Name:
    BB
    OK,

Im laying it down now, hopefully not to many of you will slander, abuse or laugh at me, but Ive been shoping around for a car for the last 6 months or so and still cannot decide.

I want to buy a car as a weekender (i cant buy one as a daily, as i work in a prety dodgy part of town), and have been looking at 308 GTB's and Lotus Elises.

Just to give you some idea (i live in australia, so prices differ allot to the US), a GTB will cost me anywere from $60K aus (for a rough one) to $90k for an exceptional one, where i can buy a lotus Elise for anywere from $35k for a basic 97 model, right through to 100k for a brand new one.

so heres my question, if any of you can talk from experience would be great. WHich do you think would be better as an enthusiasts weekender? with everything from maintenance, insurance, performance and resale in mind.

I know the Lotus will win on performance, but i thaught id throw my hat into the ring.

Cheers

2. patpong

patpong Formula 3

Jul 6, 2004
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Full Name:
    Patpong Thanavisuth