328 Maintenance Cost for Low Mileage Buy | FerrariChat

328 Maintenance Cost for Low Mileage Buy

Discussion in '308/328' started by surfermark, May 12, 2005.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. surfermark

surfermark Formula Junior

May 19, 2004
    Mill Valley, CA
    Full Name:
    Mark
    I am new to the Ferrari world and looking to buy a 1989 328. The one I am looking at has about 10K miles on it (beautiful shape inside and out). I have verified as best I can the miles as actual through DMV and service records etc. A belt service was done 5 years ago along with water pump and seals. A new belt service was just done as well. The 328 has been driven only about 1K miles in the last 5 years. I have ready many threads here about Garage Queens. Given what I know above about the 328 what else could be expected maintenance wise if I buy this 328? When would I likely need a major/minor service done? The 328 drives like a dream but I do wish to know what I might need to do service wise in say the next 24 months if I bought the 328 since it has been driven so few miles in 5 years……It seems you have to exercise Ferrari’s to keep them in good working order so trying to find out what I may be in for service wise? Major? Minor?

2. Bullfighter

Bullfighter Two Time F1 World Champ
    Lifetime Rossa Owner

Jan 26, 2005
    Indian Wells, California
    Full Name:
    Jon
    (Disclaimer: I'm not an expert, by any means - just shopping for my first Ferrari and have got to know the 308 and 328 pretty well.)

First, 5 years is about time to have a belt service again. Some people say you can push it, especially with only 1K miles, but time also ages the belt and bearings. Kind of like tires aren't happy sitting in one place for a long time, belts lose their shape, bearings need to turn to stay good, etc. If I were you I would plan on either a 15K or (probably) 30K service to be safe. Maybe $3500-$4000.