348 CAT ECU sealing with silicone to prevent moisture build up | FerrariChat

348 CAT ECU sealing with silicone to prevent moisture build up

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by KoreanStallion, Dec 7, 2021.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. KoreanStallion

Dec 1, 2021
    New York. N.Y.
    Full Name:
    Korean Stallion
    Esteemed 348 owners. Can anyone help build out a thread on how to pull and seal the CAT ECU with silicone to prevent moisture from destroying these $400 parts? I"ve started the below based on excerpts from my348.com and would appreciate any additional steps, images and general advice.
    As i'm a newbie DIYer so please be specific - any overkill is much appreciated.
    -Purchase a $3 tube of Permatex black silicon.
    -Drive the car to help evaporate any moisture that has already penetrated the CAT ecu.
    -Disconnect the battery.
    J-ack up the rear (where do i place the jack? Do i use two jacks on each jack point?)
    -Remove both rear wheels.
    -Remove both inner fender liners.
    -Unbolt, unplug and pull out both of the exhaust ECUs.(is this easy to do?)
    -Seal them up with the Permatex black silicon(where do i put the silicon?)
    -Be sure to seal everything except the electrical wires.
    Sealing it should keep moisture from getting inside the $400 CAT ECUs. (can someone provide more pictures?)
    (is silicone the best sealant to use or is there a lighter/less permanent sealant?)

View attachment 3248900

2. Ferrarium

Ferrarium F1 Veteran
    Rossa Subscribed

Jul 28, 2018
    Central NJ
    Full Name:
    Eric
    You can see the RTV in grey on mine. You can do it with the ecu's in the car. You can access after you remove the fender liner. The unbolt with 2 nuts. easy. Run a search for 348 jacking points.
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

3. KoreanStallion

Dec 1, 2021
    New York. N.Y.
    Full Name:
    Korean Stallion