360 Cam Cover gasket replacement | FerrariChat

360 Cam Cover gasket replacement

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by Neil22, Dec 26, 2019.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Neil22

Neil22 Karting
    Silver Subscribed

Nov 4, 2018
    Oxford CT
    Full Name:
    Neil Silberkleit
    I am new to working on Ferrari's and have a question about replacing the cam cover gaskets.
    I have pulled the cover and before I replace the gasket would like to know if I need put some gasket sealant on the cover.
    I am concerned around the seals in the front and the very small piece of gasket in between the cam shafts.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. 2NA

2NA F1 World Champ
    Consultant Owner Professional Ferrari Technician

Dec 29, 2006
    Twin Cities
    Full Name:
    Tim Keseluk
    Yes, a small amount of sealant is applied where the gasket end meets the seals. I use Hondabond HT.

3. Neil22

Neil22 Karting
    Silver Subscribed

Nov 4, 2018
    Oxford CT
    Full Name:
    Neil Silberkleit
    Thanks for the quick response:
    Do I need to apply some around the front seals?
    does the sealant need to be hi temp ? I have a lot of permatex - from working on old Muscle cars.

4. 2NA

2NA F1 World Champ

Dec 29, 2006
    Twin Cities
    Full Name:
    Tim Keseluk
    #4 2NA, Dec 26, 2019
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2019
    I was referring to the front seals. Also a good idea anywhere gasketed surfaces meet at right angles.
    There are photos of this but I don't have any handy right now.