Observations on a GT4 engine pull. | FerrariChat

Observations on a GT4 engine pull.

Discussion in '308/328' started by Mike Florio, Aug 17, 2014.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Mike Florio

Mike Florio Formula Junior

Jun 19, 2003
    NW Rural Nevada
    Full Name:
    Mike Florio
    #1 Mike Florio, Aug 17, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    The engine came out of my GT4 yesterday. My two helpers were both FAA A&P mechanics with years of experience. One of them was my son, who will get the car when I go to the big winding road in the sky, so he had a vested interest. I studied most of the previous postings on the procedure and am particularly indebted to the excellent instructions from Tom O'Shay and Chris (Newto308). My objective in this post is to augment their contribution and provide a coherent checklist for anyone else who attempts this exercise.

I had done a lot of the prep work over the last couple of weeks, removing most of the pieces that would have to come off anyway to get the heads off: Carbs, Distributors, alternator, A/C pump, Coils, oil cooler, a lot of wiring, fuel and coolant lines, etc.

To protect the rear window I made a cardboard template and cut a piece of engineered floorboard to fit. I sandwiched the cardboard between the window and the floorboard and it fit perfectly. For the edges of the roof and buttresses I used a piece of plastic outside corner, 1" to a side ($7 at Lowes). One side covered the edge on the buttresses, a piece on top and the bottom covered the roof overhang. Then everything was covered with moving blankets.

I have a lift, so most of the work was done from the underside with the wheels off. We reattached the wheels and lowered the car on rear-wheel dollies for the actual lift.