550 LED light conversion | FerrariChat

550 LED light conversion

Discussion in '456/550/575' started by cwwhk, Apr 3, 2012.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. cwwhk

cwwhk Formula 3

Nov 13, 2003
    Hong Kong, Tokyo
    Full Name:
    Wayne
    It always bothered me the various incandescent bulbs in my car draw a lot of current, gets very hot, and basically not that bright for the wattage.

A few years ago I looked into converting to LED lights, but concluded back then the technology is not quite ready. Well now it's 2012 so I studied what's available on the market last week and I now think the latest technology LED bulbs are up to the task. Here is what I chose for my 550.

niftyfivefifty likes this.
  2. cwwhk

cwwhk Formula 3

Nov 13, 2003
    Hong Kong, Tokyo
    Full Name:
    Wayne
    #2 cwwhk, Apr 3, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    For the reverse light OEM is a P21W single element incandescent bulb. Two bulbs per car. I chose a 7W LED light. See first picture.

Second picture shows the LED as very blue on the left and OEM incandescent as white on the right. In real life the LED is white while OEM is yellow. Color shift is due to my digital camera. In terms of brightness, to my eyes the LED is as bright if not brighter than OEM, yet draws less than 1/3 the wattage. In the time for me to take a few pictures, the OEM bulb already made the light housing hot to the touch while LED side is not even warm.

Service life of the bulb will be shortened if it's on for more than 15 minutes at a time due to heatsink cooling issues of the the LED elements. It's not a problem for me because I don't intend to drive in reverse for any extended period of time. :D
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

3. 00 550

00 550 Formula Junior

Oct 20, 2009
    FL
    Full Name:
    That guy
    What are the specs on the lights? Can you get them for headlights too? How much

4. cwwhk