'86 Biturbo Spyder | FerrariChat

'86 Biturbo Spyder

Discussion in 'Maserati' started by grillage, Jan 30, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. grillage

grillage Rookie

Jan 25, 2017
    #1 grillage, Jan 30, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    I saw this on craigslist and had to pull the trigger! 36,000 miles and really in pretty darn good shape overall

The car has sat for a couple years after what I'm told were some choke and carb problems.

It came with a spare carb/plenum and just needs put back together supposedly.

I am starting with replacing all bazillion feet of vacuum hoses with silicone and I'd like to do the timing belt service before I try to put things back together. I managed to find the manual online but is there a good writeup of the procedure?

I'm new to Maserati but have a bunch of experience with older Audis and have done engine swaps and all kinds of fun stuff with them.

Also, it appears that I've bought the worst model in terms of the carburetor setup from 86. Is it simple to swap in the earlier version or should I just get this one up and running?

thanks in advance!
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. MrMark

MrMark Karting

Apr 3, 2013
    Louisiana, USA
  3. finlandese

finlandese Formula Junior

Jan 1, 2006
    Finland
    I really wish Biturbozentrum would be on anther platform than Yahoo..

4. grillage

grillage Rookie

Jan 25, 2017
    Me too. It's really hard to get info from.
    Also, I've tried to post there a couple times now and it hasn't worked for me for some reason

5. TheMayor

TheMayor Nine Time F1 World Champ
    Rossa Subscribed

Feb 11, 2008
    Vegas baby
    I would immediately look at the timing belt, tensioner, and water pump. Also the fusebox.

Biggest headache to look for: blown turbos. A lot of Oil in the plenum or exhaust will give you a clue.