Any SLS amg owners out there thar can help me? | FerrariChat

Any SLS amg owners out there thar can help me?

Discussion in 'Other German' started by sidj, Apr 21, 2019.

Tags:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. sidj

sidj Rookie

Feb 18, 2019
    Full Name:
    sid jager
    Hey,
    Forum newbie here. Am deciding between a few cars including an sls amg and a 550.

Now, are there any sls owners that can tell me about reliability? The 7 speed dct worries me a tad. Also, I am leaning more towards roadster.

The stunning lack of info on SLS ownership online leaves me no choice but to ask here. let me know mods if this is the appropriate place.

2. tbakowsky

tbakowsky F1 World Champ
    Consultant Professional Ferrari Technician

Sep 18, 2002
    The Cold North
    Full Name:
    Tom
    You can not compare the 2 at all. Completely different and every respect.

However, early SLS had engine problems, along with gearbox issues. Thise were fixed under warranty, and the improved with the next model year. Really not much to worry about with one of these.

Natkingcolebasket69 likes this.
  3. sidj

sidj Rookie

Feb 18, 2019
    Full Name:
    sid jager
    So which years had the sorted gearbox and motor?

4. ag512bbi

ag512bbi F1 Veteran
    Owner Silver Subscribed

Nov 8, 2003
    So. Cal
    Full Name:
    Armen
    All I can add is that I drove my roadster for a full year, 10,000 miles.
    Probably the most enjoyable non Ferrari 10,000 miles. easy in, easy out. Doors open alot easier than the Gullwing. More roomier than the AMG GT-R. I have NO negatives about the car. Simple Mechanics, Power, Comfort, Sound = FUN!

5. sidj

sidj Rookie

Feb 18, 2019
    Full Name:
    sid jager
    What year wasnyour roadster? Also, if you dont mind me asking, why did you sell it (Im assuming you did)

6. ag512bbi

ag512bbi F1 Veteran
    Owner Silver Subscribed

Nov 8, 2003
    So. Cal
    Full Name: