cali30 knock with steering wheel turned all the way | FerrariChat

cali30 knock with steering wheel turned all the way

Discussion in 'California/Portofino/Roma' started by Isaak, Apr 1, 2018.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Isaak

Isaak Rookie

Jan 7, 2018
    Full Name:
    isaak Mull
    Hello

I am new to the chat and was hoping to get some information about my 2014 cali30. When I turn my steering wheel all the way to the left or to the right and drive forward, I get a knocking sound and jerking from the car. Anyone have any thoughts on this?
    Thanks
    Isaak

2. 4th_gear

4th_gear F1 Rookie

Jan 18, 2013
    Full Name:
    Michael
    Hi Isaak, may I ask if you are the original owner, or if you bought the car used? How long have you had the car?

The reason why I ask is because it looks like your front wheels may be rubbing against the suspension or the bodywork. This should not happen with the factory wheels but it can happen if someone has replaced the original wheels with wheels or just tires that don't fit properly. Sometimes people also install rims that were designed for a different Ferrari model or aftermarket wheels that are too big.

My advice is to definitely avoid turning the steering wheel to opposite lock and inspect the inside edges of the front rims, the edges of the tires, the surrounding wheel well opening, wheel well cover and nearby suspension components for any signs of wear or rubbing.

3. vjd3

vjd3 F1 Rookie
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Jun 3, 2005
    Massachusetts
    Full Name:
    Vic
    If this is happening when the car is cold and you are backing out of a garage then turning at a sharp angle at a slow speed, the low profile tires might skip a little bit. Feels like you're running over something but it's just the tires.

If this is happening during normal driving, that's another story.

MalibuGuy likes this.
  4. tomc

tomc Two Time F1 World Champ