California what to watch out for (new buyer) | FerrariChat

California what to watch out for (new buyer)

Discussion in 'California/Portofino/Roma' started by Carlinhos1904, Jul 10, 2024.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Carlinhos1904

Carlinhos1904 Rookie

Jul 9, 2024
    Full Name:
    Carlos Freitas
    Hey everyone,

Newbie here and a rookie question
    I am going to buy a natural aspirated California with 50k Km on the clock, what are the key things I should be looking at that are critical around this mileage and/or will require attention shortly ? Just want to make sure the car I am buying is in great condition …

I am with bull family at the moment and this would be My First Ferrari hence the newbie question…

Any insights and guidance regarding this vehicles would be awesome - thank you in anticipation

Carlos

2. greyboxer

greyboxer F1 World Champ

Dec 8, 2004
    South East
    Full Name:
    Jimmie
    Spend some time looking thro this section and check out the many similar threads over the past few years especially those relating to DCT

3. alex

alex Formula Junior
    Silver Subscribed

Dec 19, 2003
    Crystal Lake, Illinois
    Full Name:
    Alex
    Early Cali's (2009 through 2012) seemed to have more DCT issues. Also check motor mounts. They fail early on these cars. Take greyboxers' advice and search threads for California Issues and California Problems. A PPI (pre purchase inspection) is always a good idea to uncover any issues not immediately apparent. Having the full service history is also a plus. Good luck!

lucydad likes this.
  4. Carlinhos1904

Carlinhos1904 Rookie

Jul 9, 2024
    Full Name:
    Carlos Freitas
    thank you Alex, makes sense on the PPI . I read about DCT just wondering if that common with NA versions..

appreciated the time will do my homework and will revert here :)

5. gregwang

gregwang Rookie

Oct 23, 2021