Considering 355 or 360 challenge for HPDE | FerrariChat

Considering 355 or 360 challenge for HPDE

Discussion in 'Tracking & Driver Education' started by Sancho22, May 8, 2022.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Sancho22

Sancho22 Karting

Oct 24, 2018
    Northern New Jersey
    Full Name:
    Laszlo Szanka
    Hi
    I am thinking about acquiring either a 355 or 360 challenge car for 5-8 DE events/year.

I have been running Porsches (from 944-to a GT4 now) and love them.

However since I acquired my 95 355 spyder 3 years ago, I can't stop looking at challenge cars.
    I know it will likely be more expensive than a 996 GT3 or my current 2016 GT4, but can't help myself.

I am a PCA instructor and take care of my cars do not race and not trying to be the fastest guy on the track.

The two cars I am looking at are fairly close in price. Certainly the 360 is more modern car with better F1 vs the 355 version. The 355 on the other hand is manual which I prefer and truly love the platform.

Maintenance is key of course, clutch, engine, ball joints, over-revs, fluid changes and all this well documented of course. I am in NJ and have pretty good access to several good independent shops.
    What else should I look for?Thanks in advance to your insights.

2. FerrariCognoscenti

FerrariCognoscenti Formula 3

Jan 19, 2021
    East Coast
    I would go with the 360 Challenge because it will simply have that real race car feel in everyway.

You already have a 355 and the 355 Challenge was the most tame of all the challenge cars, evidenced by them being largely street legal still. The 355 and then 355 Challenge is very redundant to own and it THAT much different than a regular 355.

The 360 Challenge transmission is very good and you won’t miss not having a stick.

Definitely 360.

Gh21631 likes this.
  3. Sancho22

Sancho22 Karting

Oct 24, 2018
    Northern New Jersey
    Full Name: