Cost of upkeep & restoration: 308 Ferrari vs. Porsche 911/912 | FerrariChat

Cost of upkeep & restoration: 308 Ferrari vs. Porsche 911/912

Discussion in 'Porsche' started by davemqv, Aug 26, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. davemqv

davemqv F1 Rookie

Aug 28, 2014
    USA
    Full Name:
    Dave
    Are there any folks here who've owned both early (late 60's) 911/912's as well as 80's 308's?

I'm still "almost" about to buy one, but I also still want to buy an older 60's F car that I've been saving for forever. Basically, I want to know if I can afford to round out my dream garage and do a 912 as well, and what I can expect in terms of comparative service and restoration between that car and my current 308 Mondial.

Disclaimer: I am not a mechanic/DIY guy. Love driving 'em, can't stand wrenching on them!

Thanks!

2. 09Scuderia

09Scuderia Formula 3

Nov 20, 2011
    USA
    Full Name:
    Max
    I have restored both/ had both. 1967 911s and a various older Ferraris.

Ferrari is MASSIVELY more expensive to restore/ keep alive. The parts are fewer and far between.

3. davemqv

davemqv F1 Rookie

Aug 28, 2014
    USA
    Full Name:
    Dave
    Thanks, that's what I'm hoping.

Have to figure some things would be the same, like paint and maybe interior work. I'm also guessing labour costs are about equal, so it's really parts where I'd imagine any savings could be. Hopefully that savings is significant.

I know when I finally get into the 60's F car that's likely to be a financial black hole, at least until it's sorted, so thinking maybe I should do the cheaper car first and see if the prices on the Ferrari continue to drop as they have been.

4. randkin

randkin Formula 3
    BANNED

Aug 2, 2015
    Somis, CA
    Full Name:
    Randy