Designing parts at home; internet machine shops | FerrariChat

Designing parts at home; internet machine shops

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by snj5, Jan 8, 2006.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. snj5

snj5 F1 World Champ

Feb 22, 2003
    San Antonio
    Full Name:
    Russ Turner
    #1 snj5, Jan 8, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    I'm sure most of you probably know this, but I have found a couple of places on the net where you can download free CAD software, design a part, and then the machine shop will make it for you. I am currently trying this out.

emachineshop.com is the most capable, and I have seen where people have even had manifolds made. The software is not too hard to learn, although I am still learning it's myriad of possibilities. While most capable, the machining costs are not cheap for individual or small runs comparatively (but less expensive than a regular shop).

frontpanelexpress.com also has free downloadable software, and is focused just on flat plates, therefore costs are a lot lower comparatively. It took me about 45 minutes of putzing with the software to learn how to use it (not being one to read the directions first)