Detailing Tips | FerrariChat

Detailing Tips

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by DougS026, Oct 31, 2005.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. DougS026

DougS026 Formula Junior

Oct 4, 2005
    Long Island, NY
    Full Name:
    Doug S
    Okay, I've had my car for 3 weeks now. I guess its time to get out from behind the wheel and start detailing it. I've never done a full detail before, just the usual wax and cleaning. I guess I never had a car worth the effort before!

What do you guys use for wax, cleaning the leather, dressing tires, etc? How about the engine bay? Any special tips? Anything I should stay away from?

What's your opinion on touching up the leather? My red leather is in decent shape but shows its age in a few places. Do you use dye to touch it up or leave it as is to show some "character" as one person told me?

Thanks in advance.

2. Perfusion

Perfusion F1 Rookie

Oct 16, 2004
    Marietta, GA
    Full Name:
    Aaron
    Doug,

First of all, congrats on the car - it must be a great feeling! Second, let me declare that I am not professing to be any sort of detailing expert, but rather just someone who enjoys and can appreciate a nicely cleaned paintjob and interior.