Essay for term abroad application- opinions | FerrariChat

Essay for term abroad application- opinions

Discussion in 'Other Off Topic Forum' started by TimN88, Jan 22, 2004.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. TimN88

TimN88 F1 Veteran

Jun 12, 2001
    Northeast
    Full Name:
    Tim
    I'm applying for a term abroad at Czech Technical University. This is what i have so far for my essay. Can some of you read it and comment?
    The only other part i still have to write is a paragraph about a economic/politial/social problem or issue in the country i want to go to.

" When I was applying to various colleges, I had already accepted the fact that I would be unable to study abroad. I knew that students who chose to major in any field of engineering had a high course load, and were therefore unable to study abroad without falling behind. Last year when I was a freshman I learned that it was possible for engineers to go on a term abroad and have an amazing time while satisfying course requirements for graduation.
    I feel that the term abroad in Prague is well suited for me. For this reason it is the only one I am applying for. At Czech Technical University, I would have opportunity to take classes which relate directly to my major; mechanical engineering. Classes I would take also satisfy course requirements at Union. At other schools, a very small percentage of engineering majors choose to study abroad. That percentage is significantly higher here because engineering majors would still be able to graduate on time.
    Before I made my final decision in regards to going on a term abroad, I asked everyone I knew who went on one about their experience. Of the seven or so people I spoke with, none of them had anything negative to say. I have spent a lot of time speaking with one of my teammates on the crew team who went to Prague last fall. He highly recommended the program.