F-35 Pilot: Forget Drones, the Skies Still Belong to Fighter Pilots | FerrariChat

F-35 Pilot: Forget Drones, the Skies Still Belong to Fighter Pilots

Discussion in 'Aviation Chat' started by NYC Fred, Jun 17, 2021.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. NYC Fred

NYC Fred F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

Sep 28, 2010
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Full Name:
    Fred C
    https://www.sandboxx.us/blog/f-35-pilot-forget-drones-the-skies-still-belong-to-fighter-pilots

"As a fighter pilot, I have a lot of respect for what Elon Musk has accomplished. His ability to not adhere to dogma has allowed him to revolutionize two industries through SpaceX and Tesla. Much like a physicist, he relies on first-principle science to solve problems, which allows him to see things from a fresh perspective. However, he is wrong about the fighter jet era being over."

Hasard Lee is a fighter pilot currently flying the F-35 Panther, the United States’ newest 5th Generation stealth fighter. Prior to flying the F-35, he flew the F-16 Viper, including 82 combat missions. In his latest role, he was the Chief of F-35 Training Systems, developing innovative techniques to train future fighter pilots.

Hasard is a writer and speaker for Sandboxx. He also runs a YouTube channel that receives over 10 million views per month.

2. Jaguar36

Jaguar36 Formula Junior

Nov 8, 2010
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    While I agree that he's right for now, I think this would change near instantly if we ever got into a real fight with a country even remotely as capable. Either we'd pull manned fighters out just because we don't want to risk lives, or our adversary would flood the air with drones that may only be 10% or even 1% as capable, but could be mass produced so quickly that they'd win with pure numbers.