F355 Spider Top Replacement With Pictures | FerrariChat

F355 Spider Top Replacement With Pictures

Discussion in '348/355' started by 97 Spider, Mar 17, 2014.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. 97 Spider

97 Spider Formula 3
    Rossa Subscribed

Dec 15, 2012
    Texas
    Full Name:
    Brian
    #1 97 Spider, Mar 17, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    Well I finally got into this project today and got the old top removed. It was totally rotten and just shred in your hands.

It looks like I can only do a few pictures at a time so I will do several posts with explanations of the pictures and process.

FYI I have never tried to replace a convertible top before. I have stretched many headliners and done interior work in old muscle cars but nothing like this so it's a learning experience for me. Enjoy.
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. darrenliu

darrenliu Formula Junior

Jun 24, 2008
    Melbourne Australia
    Full Name:
    Darren Liu
    looking forward to this post.

3. 97 Spider

97 Spider Formula 3
    Rossa Subscribed

Dec 15, 2012
    Texas
    Full Name:
    Brian
    #3 97 Spider, Mar 17, 2014
    490times likes this.
  4. Carbuilder

Carbuilder Formula Junior

Aug 18, 2012
    Bolton, ON
    Full Name:
    Rick
    This is excellent!

My car had a new top (the fabric) when I bought it, but the install wasn't quite finished. It's a bit loose in areas. I'm sorting out the hydraulic system now, and was then going to take it somewhere to finish things up. Maybe I'll be able to sort it out myself after seeing how you do it.

Rick

5. 97 Spider

97 Spider Formula 3
    Rossa Subscribed

Dec 15, 2012
    Texas
    Full Name:
    Brian
    #5 97 Spider, Mar 17, 2014
    I just figured out how to upload all the photos in one post but I'll stick with the way I started so I can explain the pictures better.