First trip to Italy - what to do/expect? | FerrariChat

First trip to Italy - what to do/expect?

Discussion in 'Ferrari Discussion (not model specific)' started by rkm, Jan 20, 2013.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. rkm

rkm Karting

Apr 13, 2004
    Spring Hill
    Full Name:
    Robert Monroe
    As a life-long Ferrari enthusiast, one of my life-long dreams has been to make the pilgrimage to the home land. 3 years ago I finally decided to go back to school and I told me wife the day I started that as soon as I graduate, we're finally going to do it.

Well, I graduated in October and now the time has come to plan our trip! I started grad school last week so the trip had to be postponed until May, but it is finally here!

My question for my fellow tifosi.....

When I make it to the mother city, what all is there to see and do if you don't have any connections to the factory?

Any other advice/suggestions for my visit to Italy in general? Of course Maranello is the #1 objective, but we will see as much of Italy as possible in our trip. Even considering a trip up to Monaco if I can make it worth time/budget wise.

Thanks for any suggestions!

2. Arnie

Arnie Formula Junior

Oct 5, 2011
    New Jersey
    You can spend 2 days in Maranello, rent a Ferrari for a few hours, go the the Ferrari museum, Enzo museum, all the Ferrari shops etc.

Visit, Siena, Pisa, Rome, Montepulciano, Vatican, and Tuscany. You can also Venice which is amazing. There is just too much to do. I would skip Milan. You definitely need to rent a car,

3. Hawkeye

Hawkeye F1 Veteran
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Sep 20, 2009
    you can expect to have better food in the motorway fuel stations than you have had in the past year anywhere else.

4. GatorFL

GatorFL Moderator
    Moderator Owner

Nov 18, 2005
    Wellington, FL
    Full Name:
    Duane