Hand Car Wash & Detailer | FerrariChat

Hand Car Wash & Detailer

Discussion in 'Las Vegas' started by Risktaker, Feb 13, 2016.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Risktaker

Risktaker Karting

Feb 15, 2014
    Anyone know of a good hand car wash & detailer in the Henderson/Las Vegas area ? I heard that Windy City Wash & Wax off of I-15 & Tropicana does a good job for a fair price but I have not been there.

2. TeamF1Jr

TeamF1Jr Formula 3
    Silver Subscribed

Nov 8, 2003
    #2 TeamF1Jr, Feb 13, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2016
    I've been using Windy City exclusively for a couple years now, and while not perfect, it's the best I'm aware of. They don't open the engine compartment so if you have excess water there to avoid water spots you'll have to do it yourself. If your car is black, you're better off doing the wash yourself. I've used them with my black car a couple times and every time redid the car later when returning home. It often gets very busy there so they tend to move cars outside to do some of the drying and while that may work in cooler months, it's a nightmare when it heats up, just streaks everywhere. Another gripe would be how they clean the rims. They do get into the wheel well, but don't spend enough time doing it to get the inside completely clean. Some rims are easier to clean than others obviously and I assume naturally that is a factor on how in depth they go. The more spokes, the less clean in other words (my Black Series rims are knuckle scrapers for sure). I would just suggest getting there immediately when they open, if possible. When they're busy, plan on sitting in their lobby for 2 plus hours. However, there always seems to be interesting people in there, so time often flys when chatting it up with someone. I've used them for a full detail once, just average, certainly not concours level, but they're not saying it will be that either. In summary, I thi