How are "homage" watches allowed? | FerrariChat

How are "homage" watches allowed?

Discussion in 'Fine Watches, Jewelry, & Clothes' started by rdefabri, May 23, 2021.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. rdefabri

rdefabri Three Time F1 World Champ

Jun 4, 2008
    NJ
    Full Name:
    Rich
    I'm new to the watch game, "reacquainting" myself after having no interest for more than 25 years.

Years ago, I used to buy cheap replicas of Gucci and Movado watches, for nothing more than I thought they looked nice as an accessory. While I could never afford the "real thing", I never attempted to pass them off as real if I was asked (I'd always admit they were fake, and to be honest, they were pretty bad).

I know replicas will always exist, but I'm sort of perplexed by "homage" watches. These are generally watches that aren't branded as the original, but are blatant copies - if not downright clones - of the real deal.

How is this allowed? I would think a "design" is a copyrighted thing, and that copying it would be a violation of law. I'm guessing it's not, otherwise you wouldn't see so many of these.

I was shocked by what I've found - look at the Rocos and the Patek Phillippe...clearly a copy, but why doesn't PP sue? Am I missing something?
    Image Unavailable, Please Login Image Unavailable, Please Login

rob lay likes this.
  2. QtrItalian

QtrItalian Karting

Jan 22, 2021
    I'm not an expert in trademarking but will hazard a few speculative thoughts.
    1. Not all companies will trademark all models they make. I know the Rolex Oyster case was patented but Bulova, Citizen and Seiko (I think) all made oyster-looking fluted bezeled watches with their names on it - somehow successfully.