348 - Implementing Cooling Fan PWM Controller | FerrariChat

348 Implementing Cooling Fan PWM Controller

Discussion in '348/355' started by Ferrarium, Oct 2, 2019.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Ferrarium

Ferrarium F1 Veteran
    Rossa Subscribed

Jul 28, 2018
    Central NJ
    Full Name:
    Eric
    #1 Ferrarium, Oct 2, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2019
    disclaimer, I am no expert in this area and electronics give we worries, I hate working on them. So if someone sees a better way speak up, this just represents what I did, why and how. it is not the definitely and only way I am sure there are other ways.

I changed my thermostat and may car no longer runs at 180 it run at 192 or so. I also switched the fan switch to the newer 355 one so my car no linger swings 15 degree and the fans no longer run long periods. The issue now is the fan comes on for shorter periods more frequently keeping temps constant. I put in new SPAL fans and I noticed on the spec sheet that when the fan kicks on it drawn 30 amps and the smaller one drawn 20 amps but the 348 fans does drop less than half as they gets up to speed. With fans coming on an off frequently I now worry about the fuse box getting hot. 40 amps frequently is a big draw. While searching I found m.stojanovic posted about adding a PWM controller. That's a Power Width Modulator I found out. Its function is to modulate power up slowly to prevent a sudden spike in amp draw. This is how he explained it to me. Thanks for all the help btw. :)

So I bought a Toyota unit from Ebay from a 2017 Avalon shown below. m.stojanovic mentioned he used htem before with no problems. There is actually another model used in GS450 that has larger wires and presumably handles more power I since discovered. But I went with the 30060 unit shows and doubled it up on one fan I'll show.

Image Unavailable, Please Login