Mid v Front Engined Cars | FerrariChat

Mid v Front Engined Cars

Discussion in 'Other Racing' started by Texas Forever, Dec 28, 2004.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Texas Forever

Texas Forever Seven Time F1 World Champ
    Rossa Subscribed

Apr 28, 2003
    Texas!
    I might be wrong (I seem to recall this happening once about 20 years ago), but I'm under the impression that a mid-engined car is more prone to "snap and spin" than a front-engined car.

Let's compare a 360 to a 550, for example. A 360 has less understeer than a 550; but when the rear wheels break loose, the next thing you know, you're headed backwards down the track. A 550 has more understeer on the turn in, and the rear probably breaks sooner, but the car lets you know that something is coming.

Maybe I should be comparing a 512 TR to a Maranello, William, your thoughts?

I'm not an engineer, so I don't understand the physics involved here. Perhaps the difference is due to the fact that most mid-engined cars are closer to a 50/50 balance than a front-engined beast?

Because you guys (and one or two gals) have more racing experience than me, I'd like to know your thoughts. Do you agree with the mid-engined "snap and spin" wife's tale? (Please note that I'm not talking about 911s. That is a whole different story.)

What about FWD or AWD cars? What do they do when you lose it? Do they give any warning, or is your world suddenly turned upside down?

Thx, Dale

2. FLATOUTRACING

FLATOUTRACING F1 Rookie

Aug 20, 2001
    East Coast
    Full Name:
    Jon K.

Dale,

Until I have time to post later.

Go to: http://ferrarichat.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39217 and scroll half way down the first page where we discuss the "spin" characteristics of mid and rear engined cars.

Regards,

Jon P. Kofod
    www.flatoutracing.net

3. speedy_sam

speedy_sam F1 Veteran

Jul 13, 2004
    TX
    Full Name:
    Sameer