Mileage | FerrariChat

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. msnare

msnare Rookie

Dec 21, 2017
    I'm very new to thinking about actually buying and operating a used Ferrari. I'm looking at Californias, because I want a GT we can travel comfortably in. I'd expect to put 5 to 8 thousand miles a year on the car. I prefer to buy and keep cars, have them properly maintained, drive them for years. I want to buy a car I can drive reliably for 5 years and put 30,000 miles on.

Looking around I find people posting charts and recommendations about how mileage should affect maintenance costs and reliability. I'm terrified by some of what I read. "15,000 to 20,000 is high mileage, expect issues." "Over 20,000 is dangerous". "Over 30,000 is mistake at any price".

This scares me. I'm do not want to get into an ownership cycle where I have to change cars every couple of years to avoid them becoming a maintenance nightmare at 20k miles. Maybe a Ferrari is not the right car for me.

I'd like to ask some probably naive questions about maintenance requirements as mileage increases

Does your experience support the warnings I quoted? How high have you gone on mileage in a modern F without major problems. Is a 25,000 or 40,000 mile California a ticking bomb?

Does anyone have personal experience with the costs to properly maintain a California at or above the 25,000 mile range?

I don't expect maintenance to be cheap. I've read about and like the idea of getting a warranty to make the costs more predictable. I'm just starting to gather info on this, but I'm expecting at the moment to budget $10k a year for maintenance. Is that realistic?

What I want to avoid is getting into a car that will turn into an unreliable money pit that lives at the mechanics for unscheduled repairs if I try to drive it for 5 years and put 30,000 miles on it.

Thanks!

2. tomc

tomc Two Time F1 World Champ

Apr 13, 2014