News

Mondial Cigarette Lighter/Auxiliary Power

Discussion in 'Mondial' started by soucorp, Nov 7, 2011.

  1. soucorp

    soucorp F1 Rookie

    Sep 20, 2011
    4,808
    Old Dominion
    Full Name:
    Mike
    #1 soucorp, Nov 7, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
  2. To remove this ad click here.

  3. soucorp

    soucorp F1 Rookie

    Sep 20, 2011
    4,808
    Old Dominion
    Full Name:
    Mike
    Just wondering how these adapters would work if the original smaller cigarette lighter has a heating element at the bottom, something does not look right ? What am I missing?
     
  4. Steve Magnusson

    Steve Magnusson Two Time F1 World Champ
    Lifetime Rossa

    Jan 11, 2001
    20,295
    Texas
    Full Name:
    Steve Magnusson
    #4 Steve Magnusson, Nov 7, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2011
    That adapter coverts the F auxillary power socket (a.k.a. current socket) to the "US" cigarette lighter socket -- it does not work with the F cigarette lighter with the built-in heating element (as you noted). The 3.2 Mondial wiring diagram indicates that your current socket is located inside the glovebox.
     
  5. fdekeu

    fdekeu Formula Junior
    Silver Subscribed

    Jun 19, 2008
    513
    Belzium
    Full Name:
    Frank
    #5 fdekeu, Nov 8, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2011
    Steve is right
    There is a socket in the glove box and one in the engine compartment
    You can use the adapters to convert them to a 'normal' one there

    I have replaced my 'US' power socket between the front seats with a normal one (2$)
    This is also fitted in Euro cars, so not a merely 'US' thing
    Easy installation
    Now I can plug in my navigation and so on
     
  6. To remove this ad click here.

  7. ronfrohock

    ronfrohock F1 Rookie
    Rossa Subscribed Owner

    Aug 16, 2004
    3,220
    MA
    Full Name:
    Ron Frohock
    And had it mounted under the dash on the passenger side, out of site.
    I plug my Valentine in there. The cord goes from the V1 down the dash and disappears underneath, rather than going back to the middle console.
    Much better in my opinion.
    - Ron
     
  8. jgoodman

    jgoodman F1 Rookie
    Rossa Subscribed

    Aug 29, 2009
    2,972
    Central PA
    Full Name:
    Jay Goodman
    Totally agree. I have done the same thing but under the driver's side dash for the power to Sirius/XM. Out of site is better IMHO.
     
  9. PV Dirk

    PV Dirk F1 Veteran

    Jul 26, 2009
    5,401
    Ahwatukee, AZ
    Good call to use one of the other outlets, otherwise how would I light my cigarettes? :D
     
  10. gsfent

    gsfent Formula 3

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,068
    PB County, Florida
    Full Name:
    Jerry
    I assume you ran the cord across the headliner so no telltake wire trace down the windshield? Or did you simply run it down the windshield and behind the dash?

    I was thinking of mounting my V1 remote head where the clock is on the '89t and looking for another place for the clock. Anyone tried that?
    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  11. To remove this ad click here.

  12. ronfrohock

    ronfrohock F1 Rookie
    Rossa Subscribed Owner

    Aug 16, 2004
    3,220
    MA
    Full Name:
    Ron Frohock
    The cord is plugged into a Radio Shack Aux Cigarette Lighter Socket that is secured to the underside of the dash - out of site. I plug in the V1 and run the cord up the front of the dash to the unit which is suction cupped at the base of the window.
    Thanks
    - Ron


     
  13. soucorp

    soucorp F1 Rookie

    Sep 20, 2011
    4,808
    Old Dominion
    Full Name:
    Mike
    #11 soucorp, Nov 9, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    I checked my glovebox, do not see any current socket anywhere, there's a built in light with on/off switch to the left, to the right, seems like a small hole -could that be it, but its too small to stick the adapter in from the look of things. I have to look it up in the wiring diagram. thanks.
    Image Unavailable, Please Login
     
  14. soucorp

    soucorp F1 Rookie

    Sep 20, 2011
    4,808
    Old Dominion
    Full Name:
    Mike
    #12 soucorp, Jun 4, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
  15. soucorp

    soucorp F1 Rookie

    Sep 20, 2011
    4,808
    Old Dominion
    Full Name:
    Mike
    #13 soucorp, Jun 5, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    I finally figured out how my cigarette lighter works on my car. When I bought it, was missing the top or cover, just had a hole. So this is the original skinny Italian cig lighter units.
    Apparently you pull the spring loaded round thing, it causes the bottom heating element to heat up, the missing top is by design to guide a cigarette down for to get lit.

    I'll be changing this whole part out and installing a US Spec lighter/power for my electronic devices. How to and pics to follow this week.
    Image Unavailable, Please Login
     
  16. Valenzo

    Valenzo F1 Veteran

    Dec 4, 2010
    5,013
    IL & NC
    Full Name:
    Ted
    but what will you use to light your Virginia Slims?
     
  17. Brian420

    Brian420 Formula Junior

    Oct 27, 2009
    469
    Suburb of Detroit
    Full Name:
    Brian
    Mine works. its an 86, though. In fact, the 'hole' is too big. When I tried to put in my phone charger, it wiggled around and didn't stay connected. I wound some scotch tape around it to take up the space and it fits snug. It even works when the car is off. Just last night, I was using the gps on my phone and it was draining. I plugged it in, and it even continued to charge after I turned off the car and went into my destination. I wonder if a previous owner changed it already.

    Regards,
    Brian
     
  18. soucorp

    soucorp F1 Rookie

    Sep 20, 2011
    4,808
    Old Dominion
    Full Name:
    Mike
    #16 soucorp, Jun 5, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2012
    Hi Brian,

    For sure the previous owner changed it on your car. My 88 is US spec and still have the little cig lighter, can't insert anything into it that's modern. And yes, the lighter is connected to have continuous power even after keys are out. I have to be careful not to touch mine, it can heat up the element inside and can start a fire, not the safest thing to have around so that's why I am yanking it out.

    BTW, folks said there are auxiliary power in the glove box and engine bay, I have not seen any of this on my car. If you do, can you provide pics and details please.
     
  19. Wade

    Wade Three Time F1 World Champ
    Rossa Subscribed Owner

    Mar 31, 2006
    32,194
    East Central, FL
    Full Name:
    Wade O.
    #17 Wade, Jun 5, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
  20. Wade

    Wade Three Time F1 World Champ
    Rossa Subscribed Owner

    Mar 31, 2006
    32,194
    East Central, FL
    Full Name:
    Wade O.
    #18 Wade, Jun 5, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
  21. kouroshoo7

    kouroshoo7 Formula 3

    Jul 21, 2007
    1,066
    Full Name:
    Kourosh
    wait, there is a glove box in the mondial?
    I had no idea! Mine doesn't seem to open!
     
  22. soucorp

    soucorp F1 Rookie

    Sep 20, 2011
    4,808
    Old Dominion
    Full Name:
    Mike
    The early Mondial t has a glove box, but the later ones do not.
    Ferrari inserted knee padding under the dash that took up all of the space for the glove box.
     
  23. soucorp

    soucorp F1 Rookie

    Sep 20, 2011
    4,808
    Old Dominion
    Full Name:
    Mike
    #21 soucorp, Jun 5, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    Thanks Wade, You da Man !
    I probably open my glove box, examined it 10 x and never knew to look at the right silver round thing, only to see that a small power chord adapter will work with this. If so, I will not replace my existing cigarette lighter. I see now where the Ferrari aid light plugs into.
    (Electrical - Accessory Plug Adapter to Cigarette - by BMW) $27 http://www.ascycles.com/detail.aspx?ID=1264

    or buy at auction:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/COILED-HEAVY-DUTY-Accessory-Plug-Adapter-Cable-for-BMW-TRIUMPH-Ducati-MORE-/130706317990?pt=Motorcycles_Parts_Accessories&hash=item1e6eb422a6&vxp=mtr#ht_500wt_1202
    Image Unavailable, Please Login
    Image Unavailable, Please Login
    Image Unavailable, Please Login
    Image Unavailable, Please Login
    Image Unavailable, Please Login
     
  24. Wade

    Wade Three Time F1 World Champ
    Rossa Subscribed Owner

    Mar 31, 2006
    32,194
    East Central, FL
    Full Name:
    Wade O.
    You too... ;)

    I need to get one of those adapters, thanks.
     
  25. soucorp

    soucorp F1 Rookie

    Sep 20, 2011
    4,808
    Old Dominion
    Full Name:
    Mike
    Thanks Wade. I just bought one online!
    Let you guys know how well it works when I get it !

    Cheers!
     
  26. soucorp

    soucorp F1 Rookie

    Sep 20, 2011
    4,808
    Old Dominion
    Full Name:
    Mike
    #24 soucorp, Jun 8, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
  27. Wade

    Wade Three Time F1 World Champ
    Rossa Subscribed Owner

    Mar 31, 2006
    32,194
    East Central, FL
    Full Name:
    Wade O.
    #25 Wade, Sep 18, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    Mike, I was just looking at this again. Yours appears to be modified/gutted. Here's what mine look like (red interior picture).
    Image Unavailable, Please Login
    Image Unavailable, Please Login
     

Share This Page