My Corvette Daydream | FerrariChat

My Corvette Daydream

Discussion in 'American Muscle' started by Texas Forever, Oct 1, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Texas Forever

Texas Forever Seven Time F1 World Champ
    Rossa Subscribed

Apr 28, 2003
    Texas!
    I need a new drug. I have not had a sports car in over five years. Here are the dream parameters:

* It must be a fun car. This will NOT be a track car. While it could be a DD, primary use will be tooling around on back country roads. Not cruising the strip or trying to impress strippers.

* I would prefer around 350 hp and lots of torque. Did I say lots of torque? Good, because it will need lots of torque.

* It must have a stick. Purely personal preference. I don’t want to hear the pros and cons. I just want a standard transmission.

* It needs to be reliable. I’m not a mechanic, and I don’t want to become one.

* It must have no more than two real seats. I also prefer a hard top because I wear hearing aids.

* It must look cool as hell.

* Total cost can be no more than $40k, all in.

Needless to say, there is no way a Ferrari will fit the bill.

With this in mind, here is my Corvette daydream:

First, look at the pics of the 2004 Maserati I used to own. Not only was it a fun car to drive (gotta love a V8), but it was drop dead gorgeous. Problem is Maseratis are rumored to be bottomless pits. Once in, you’ll never see the light day again. Plus, finding a six speed is almost impossible.

Second, consider a 2003 Anniversary Corvette like the one in this ad:

http://austin.craigslist.org/cto/d/2003-corvette-convertible/6327344314.html