Oh ohh, I just bought a car older than I am! - 1957 XK140 MC OTS | FerrariChat

Oh ohh, I just bought a car older than I am! - 1957 XK140 MC OTS

Discussion in 'British' started by John B, Nov 27, 2018.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. John B

John B Formula 3

May 27, 2003
    NJ
    I've been buying and enjoying cars for 44 years, but this is the first time I bought a car older than I am. It feels like I just broke a natural barrier of some sort, like the speed of sound or something. I'm not sure what the implications are.

I've had my eye on Jag XK's for quite a while and have come close to getting one once or twice. Along the way I've learned that I prefer the "swoopy" lines of the XK120 & XK140 to the straighter XK150. I also learned that at 6'3" I really don't fit in an XK120, and that the XK140 has 4" more leg room, plus rack & pinion steering and telescopic shocks that were not on the 120's. I've always been a fan of roadsters and cars that were traditionally designed as such so I really only considered the Open Two Seater (OTS) as opposed to the Fixed Head Coupe (FHC) or Drop Head Coupe (DHC). Being a bit of a performance junkie I also wanted the "MC" option which includes the head from the "C-Type" LeMans racer with larger valves and ports, sportier cams, and dual exhaust along with other goodies like stiffer torsion bars and driving lights. So of all the 18 XK variants (XK120, XK140, XK150 : OTS, FHC, DHC : MC, std) for me, it had to be an XK140 MC OTS. You don't see them that often, but whenever I stumbled across one I would consider it.