PPF care ? | FerrariChat

PPF care ?

Discussion in 'Detailing & Showroom' started by klinkman, Sep 21, 2021.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. klinkman

klinkman Formula Junior
    Silver Subscribed

Jan 29, 2018
    Full Name:
    Eric
    Newbie here, never had PPF on a car before. So I took delivery in July of a new GTS, and since this is a "forever" car, I went with full wrap of XPEL with ceramic over. Love the finish. I think it came out looking really nice esp with the dark blue paint.

I asked the installer how to maintain it, he said just some quick detailer between washings. Okay, I said had some Macguires spray. He said, perfect apply with a microfiber cloth after you drive it. Got it.

Now I've got like a residue, cloudy surface on the hood that just seems to get pushed around. Vertical surfaces seem fine, just the hood looks bad in the right light.

Any suggestions? How do I clean this up and get her looking like new again?
    Like this:

Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. Dave Bertrand

Dave Bertrand Formula Junior
    Rossa Subscribed

Dec 24, 2005
    Castle Rock, CO
    A quick detailer is intended more for spot detailing, like removing a fingerprint or some light, loose dust. If you've got so much dirt that it's just being pushed around, it's time for a regular washing.

edit: Are you saying you have a ceramic coat over the top of XPEL? I wasn't aware that was possible.

3. klinkman

klinkman Formula Junior
    Silver Subscribed

Jan 29, 2018
    Full Name:
    Eric
    Not sure that's true. Chemical guys, for example, talks about a quick cleaning, wiping dust off the bottom of a hood ~1:25

4. Dave Bertrand

Rossa Subscribed

Dec 24, 2005
    Castle Rock, CO
    All he says is that he's wiping off dust, which is what I mentioned in my previous response. Plus, that car is already clean. Notice that every time he turns the towel up that there is no dirt on it at all.