Rev Limiter on the 812 | FerrariChat

Rev Limiter on the 812

Discussion in 'F12/812' started by 575joe, Jun 13, 2018.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. 575joe

575joe Formula Junior

Aug 27, 2006
    I seem to be hitting the rev limiter (blue lights flashing on steering and power cut-off) several hundred rpm before I get to the 8900 rpm limit.
    Anyone else have the same issue?
    Is it restricted perhaps until you reach a certain number of break-in kilometers? (I have about 1700 kms on mine).
    Thanks,

2. AlfistaPortoghese

AlfistaPortoghese Moderator
    Lifetime Rossa

Mar 18, 2014
    Europe, but not by much.
    Full Name:
    Nuno
    Not saying that's the case with the 812 once I have no first hand experience with that Ferrari, but Ferrari's tachometer policy is confusing at best:

- The 488's tacho has the redline painted from 8000rpm onwards, yet no 488 ever reaches 8000rpm. Fuel cutoff occurs between 7700rpm and 7800rpm.
    - The 458's tacho has the redline painted from 9000rpm onwards, yet owners' manual states peak power and fuel cutoff at 9200rpm.

Hardly accurate, therefore. It could be a cosmetic issue (like the 488 - fuel cutoff occurs earlier) or not, but in whichever case, I don't believe the car's cutoff will adapt itself automatically once break-in finalises (assuming there's even a break-in in modern engines).

Kind regards,

Nuno.

3. ForeverCar

ForeverCar Formula Junior

Jan 20, 2017
    I’d like to learn more on this as well while I’m waiting for my 812.

Regarding the 488, I really don’t understand and have not been able to get any details. For the most part, I can get over it and the car is simply amazing. It’s still odd though.

Sent from my iPhone using FerrariChat

4. abdulla.alhajri

abdulla.alhajri Karting

Jul 16, 2015
    Same here but cant figure out how far away from 8900 i need to do more tests.

5. otakki

otakki Formula 3

Mar 24, 2016