News

SAVE YOUR CAMBELT????

Discussion in '348/355' started by Stbernard, Mar 29, 2007.

  1. chaa

    chaa F1 Veteran

    Mar 21, 2003
    5,058
    #26 chaa, Mar 30, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    Who is talking about the crank pulley dude? You wasn't and neither was i. This thread is about cam pulley locks, and holding the cam sprockets. The only pulley bolt to loosen is the crank bolt on a 355, and that is done before any cam pulley locks are used. There are two pairs of top cam pulleys on a 355, and they take a little pressure to hold them in place while the belts are swaped,but not a great deal of pressure.
    Enough education for ya;) I think you and i have our wires crossed:)
    Image Unavailable, Please Login
     
  2. To remove this ad click here.

  3. bcwawright

    bcwawright F1 Veteran

    Jul 8, 2006
    5,234
    Georgia
    Full Name:
    Bruce
    CHAA would be like a kid in a candy shop if he were to get such a nice assortment of tools like that........hey there a few in that batch I might want...lol
     
  4. gothspeed

    gothspeed F1 World Champ

    May 26, 2006
    10,244
    U.S.A.
    Full Name:
    goth
    That must be a pic of the legendary 329RWHP motor :D :D !!!
     
  5. bcwawright

    bcwawright F1 Veteran

    Jul 8, 2006
    5,234
    Georgia
    Full Name:
    Bruce
    HMMM...the mystery is solved......big hp gains by not putting on alternator,a/c,and power steering belts
     
  6. Jagbuff

    Jagbuff Formula 3

    Jan 13, 2004
    2,265
    Site of US F1 Race!
    Full Name:
    Franck
    #30 Jagbuff, Mar 30, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    We must have our wires cross. I wasn't referring the to crank pulley bolt (which also needs to be removed) but the cam pulleys bolts which also need to be removed to reset/ adjust cam timing. These in my experience are pretty tight and required a fair amount of torque (98 Nm to be precise) to tighten, enough to jump a tooth if the cam is not locked in place (which I presume is the claim of this tool). Are the spec that different on the 355? ,

    Anyway if it is just to hold the pulleys in place - not lock them down - then its purpose is very limited. Maybe the I missed the whole point of the "tool".

    Gratuitous Engine Picture ;)
    Image Unavailable, Please Login
     
  7. To remove this ad click here.

  8. bcwawright

    bcwawright F1 Veteran

    Jul 8, 2006
    5,234
    Georgia
    Full Name:
    Bruce
    I am all for these kind of heated discussions.....the result is, we all get to see some cool pics of awesome engines......and learn more details about the do's and don'ts for the DYS owners......keep it up, and of course more pics pleeeeeeze......lol
     
  9. gothspeed

    gothspeed F1 World Champ

    May 26, 2006
    10,244
    U.S.A.
    Full Name:
    goth
    Is that a 328 engine pic??
     
  10. nathandarby67

    nathandarby67 F1 Veteran
    Rossa Subscribed Owner

    Feb 1, 2005
    8,315
    Mississippi
    Full Name:
    Nathan
    Love the engine picture....beautiful!

    Seriously though, how do you hold your cam pullys when you have to remove/tighten the bolts?

    And how about a toothed version of the tool in the ebay auction? That way it would slip in the teeth of the pulley and not have to be tightened excessively to pervent slippage while removing/tightening the cam pully bolts. All the load (most anyway) would be torsonial.
     
  11. PAP 348

    PAP 348 Moderator
    Moderator Owner

    Dec 10, 2005
    86,692
    Mount Isa, Australia
    Full Name:
    Pap

    You guys got it easy.............:p:p:p
     
  12. To remove this ad click here.

  13. gothspeed

    gothspeed F1 World Champ

    May 26, 2006
    10,244
    U.S.A.
    Full Name:
    goth
    Thats is right!!! If one belt is good, two is better :p!!!
     
  14. ernie

    ernie Two Time F1 World Champ
    Lifetime Rossa Owner

    Nov 19, 2001
    22,062
    The Brickyard
    Full Name:
    The Bad Guy
    Okay,

    Are people stupid or something???? Have you seen what the bids are up to on that thing? They are up to $127, for two pieces of delrin with a bolt through it. You can make that thing yourself for a few bucks.

    I do like the vice grips though, Chaa.
     
  15. PAP 348

    PAP 348 Moderator
    Moderator Owner

    Dec 10, 2005
    86,692
    Mount Isa, Australia
    Full Name:
    Pap

    Yeah............so they say. :rolleyes: :p:p
     
  16. PAP 348

    PAP 348 Moderator
    Moderator Owner

    Dec 10, 2005
    86,692
    Mount Isa, Australia
    Full Name:
    Pap


    YEP!! :D:D:D
     
  17. 2NA

    2NA F1 World Champ
    Professional Ferrari Technician Consultant Owner

    Dec 29, 2006
    17,741
    Twin Cities
    Full Name:
    Tim Keseluk
    Your lack of knowledge is showing.

    The tool (way overpriced) will work just fine and cause no harm (as long as it's removed at the end). It doesn't have to be very tight to hold.

    I've changed belts with nothing holding the cams. It's more difficult but possible. The tool has nothing to do with cam timing only a "third hand" to keep the 2 cams where you want them while slipping the belt on.
     
  18. chaa

    chaa F1 Veteran

    Mar 21, 2003
    5,058
    Exactly, thats why i posted the grips:) Just for a simple belt change why bother with chocks.
    Also regarding cam pulleys, i would loosen them with the old belts in place and not use the cam locks that are on ebay. Then use locks once the bolts are lessened.
     
  19. ferraridriver

    ferraridriver F1 Rookie
    Rossa Subscribed

    Aug 8, 2002
    4,035
    Bay Area Calif.
    Full Name:
    Dave
    #41 ferraridriver, Mar 31, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
  20. jayz

    jayz Formula 3

    Jan 16, 2006
    1,153
    Los Angeles, CA
    Full Name:
    Jess
    now that's a nice tool
     
  21. jayz

    jayz Formula 3

    Jan 16, 2006
    1,153
    Los Angeles, CA
    Full Name:
    Jess
    did you make the tool yourself
     
  22. ferraridriver

    ferraridriver F1 Rookie
    Rossa Subscribed

    Aug 8, 2002
    4,035
    Bay Area Calif.
    Full Name:
    Dave
    #44 ferraridriver, Mar 31, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    Yes, made two of them, they work slick, positive locking without undue pressure. Makes undoing and torquing the bolt easy with no danger of slippage or stretching the belt.

    I made the pointer and attachment fixture for the degree wheel too.
    Image Unavailable, Please Login
     
  23. jayz

    jayz Formula 3

    Jan 16, 2006
    1,153
    Los Angeles, CA
    Full Name:
    Jess
    Impressive! if you'd put those up on ebay, i'd buy a set
     
  24. PAP 348

    PAP 348 Moderator
    Moderator Owner

    Dec 10, 2005
    86,692
    Mount Isa, Australia
    Full Name:
    Pap


    Nice tool. :):):)
     
  25. louthancomp

    louthancomp Karting

    Feb 9, 2007
    87
    Salem, Oregon
    Full Name:
    Robert Louthan
    I don't know man, they look like they will use up a lot of horse power. Wouldn't the cams turn more easily without those things in there??
     
  26. Jagbuff

    Jagbuff Formula 3

    Jan 13, 2004
    2,265
    Site of US F1 Race!
    Full Name:
    Franck
    No it's a very special 308 engine - originally built by Norwoods - twin turbo with also 200hp/liter - all the goodies (copper gaskets, ringed liners, water to air intercoolers, Motec) - one of the engines that I did a complete rebuilt a while back (I guess my lack of knowledge does show... yes I go beyond replacing belts ;)
     
  27. ernie

    ernie Two Time F1 World Champ
    Lifetime Rossa Owner

    Nov 19, 2001
    22,062
    The Brickyard
    Full Name:
    The Bad Guy
    Nice tool Dave.
     
  28. GCalo

    GCalo F1 Veteran

    Sep 15, 2004
    7,003
    Northern California
    Full Name:
    Greg Calo
    This guy Dave is pretty slick, eh.

    So, when are you going to start selling those cam blocks, Dave!
     

Share This Page