Spider top problems? | FerrariChat

Spider top problems?

Discussion in '360/430' started by viperboy, Jun 4, 2013.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. viperboy

viperboy Rookie

May 27, 2013
    South Carolina
    Full Name:
    Joe
    As I am new to Ferraris and looking into buying a 360 Spider, I am wondering what advice anyone can give me as to how troubling and problematic a spider top can be? Do they frequently have problems? At what mileage do they tend to break? Are they very reliable? Is there a certain year range they are better? Etc. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

2. blackbolt22

blackbolt22 F1 Veteran

Sep 25, 2007
    Boca Raton, FL
    Full Name:
    Mr. Anderson
    I've been on this site for several years now. 360 and 430 top problems seem to be rare fortunately. I hope I haven't jinxed myself...

I pray I don't have that problem. It can be extremely costly.

3. blkdiablo33

blkdiablo33 F1 Rookie

Jul 12, 2004
    i think the low mileage ones that dont get used often are the ones with concern,i bought a low mileage 430 and my top operates very slow like a weak pump.

4. tbakowsky

tbakowsky F1 World Champ
    Consultant Professional Ferrari Technician

Sep 18, 2002
    The Cold North
    Full Name:
    Tom
    The hydraulic rams like to leak. I just replaced one on a customers car. 1700 for the part and about 8 hours labor.

5. SCKOMS

SCKOMS F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

Oct 21, 2011
    Lake County, IL
    Full Name:
    Spiro
    OUCH!!

6. ferrarisun

ferrarisun Formula Junior

Feb 13, 2011
    What is the average amount of time it takes for the top to be operated up/down, with it working properly, on the 360, and also on the 430? Might be very helpful information, for someone looking at the purchase of one of these cars, . Reading the post about the part costing $1700, and 8 hrs labor, not cheap, or quick to repair!

7. SCKOMS

SCKOMS F1 Rookie