SR-71 'Tour' | FerrariChat

SR-71 'Tour'

Discussion in 'Aviation Chat' started by Tcar, Nov 4, 2018.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Tcar

Tcar F1 Rookie

Don't know if this has been posted, I've never seen it... good stuff.

A tour of the plane... about 15 minutes

ChipG, David_S, NürScud and 4 others like this.
  2. Phil~

Phil~ F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

Aug 25, 2013
    Potomac, Maryland
    Built with a slide rule. Engineering at it finest.

3. Tcar

Tcar F1 Rookie

I used to design buildings with a slipstick... then... one day a guy walked into the office with a TI calculator... 4 functions...

LARRYH likes this.
  4. airborne

airborne Karting

Feb 19, 2013
    Northern VA
    Good info - haven't seen that one before
    The plane eventually got a digital flight control system. As a young Aero engineer, I was tossed the unstart problem from a control law perspective. At cruise, a sideslip of 4 degrees or a rate of 4 degrees per second was considered a departure (loss of control). We implemented a code change to detect and react to an unstart (move the spikes). The pilots were so sensitive to it, they would catch it before the system and we had a heck of a time validating the fix!

5. BMW.SauberF1Team

BMW.SauberF1Team F1 World Champ

Dec 4, 2004
    Thank you for the video. I'm sure there is a ton more interesting stuff about it and its missions we won't hear for decades if ever. I don't see anything as badass as that being made ever again in my lifetime at least.

6. Wade

Wade Three Time F1 World Champ
    Owner

Mar 31, 2006
    East Central, FL
    Full Name:
    Wade O.
    Maintaining subsonic air intake at supersonic speeds, manually. Fun times indeed.

I recall hearing about the spike issues during the late 70s. So cool to read from someone who was actually involved in mitigating the problem.

Image Unavailable, Please Login

Ak Jim likes this.
  7. TheMayor